Bea Alonzo, John Arcilla win top acting honors at 34th Luna Awards

Kapamilya actress Bea Alonzo and seasoned actor John Arcilla were declared Best Actress and Best Actor respectively at the recently held 34th Luna Awards

Tuesday, September 20, 2016

Bea Alonzo, John Arcilla win top acting honors at 34th Luna Awards

Kapamilya actress Bea Alonzo and seasoned actor John Arcilla were declared Best Actress and Best Actor respectively at the recently held 34th Luna Awards last Sunday, September 18 at the Quezon City Sports Club.

Three-time nominee but a first time winner for Luna Best Actress, Alonzo wasn't present at the ceremony to accept the award for her performance in the move The Love Affair.

Meanwhile, John Arcilla took the Best Actor award for biopic Heneral Luna which incidentally dominated the awards including Best Actor, Best Film, Best Supporting Actor for Nonie Buencamino, and Best Director. It also won a number of technical awards.

Batangas Representative Vilma Santos-Recto was honored with the Reel Award, while Jaclyn Jose was given special recognition for winning the Best Actress Award at the Cannes Film Festival.

Here is the full list of winners:

Best Picture
Apocalypse Child (Arkeo Films)
The Breakup Playlist (Star Cinema)
Crazy Beautiful You (Star Cinema)
Felix Manalo (Viva Entertainment)
Heneral Luna (Artikulo Uno) - Winner
Honor Thy Father (Reality Entertainment)
Kid Kulafu (Ten 17P/Star Cinema)
The Love Affair (Star Cinema)
That Thing Called Tadhana (Cinema One Originals)

Best Director
Mario Cornejo (Apocalypse Child)
Antoinette Jadaone (That Thing Called Tadhana)
Joel Lamangan (Felix Manalo)
Erik Matti (Honor Thy Father)
Nuel Naval (The Love Affair)
Paul Soriano (Kid Kulafu)
Jerrold Tarog (Heneral Luna) - Winner
Dan Villegas (The Breakup Playlist)

Best Screenplay
Henry Francia, E.A. Rocha and Jerrold Tarog (Heneral Luna) - Winner
Antoinette Jadaone (That Thing Called Tadhana)
Antoinette Jadaone (The Breakup Playlist)
Jancy Nicolas, Carmi Raymundo, Bianca Bernardino and Maan Dimaculangan-Fampulme (Crazy Beautiful You)
Bienvenido C. Santiago (Felix Manalo)
Vanessa R. Valdez (The Love Affair)
Michiko Yamamoto (Honor Thy Father)

Best Actor
John Arcilla (Heneral Luna) - Winner
John Lloyd Cruz (Honor Thy Father)
JM de Guzman (That Thing Called Tadhana)
Sid Lucero (Apocalypse Child)
Dennis Trillo (Felix Manalo)
Robert ‘Buboy’ Villar (Kid Kulafu)

Best Actress
Bea Alonzo (The Love Affair) - Winner
Angelica Panganiban (That Thing Called Tadhana)
Meryll Soriano (Honor Thy Father)
Gwen Zamora (Apocalypse Child)
Dawn Zulueta (The Love Affair)

Best Supporting Actor
RK Bagatsing (Apocalypse Child)
Bernardo Bernardo (Imbisibol)
Nonie Buencamino (Heneral Luna) - Winner
Tirso Cruz III (Honor They Father)
Allen Dizon (Imbisibol)
JM de Guzman (Imbisibol)
Dennis Padilla (The Breakup Playlist)

Best Supporting Actress
Ana Abad-Santos (Apocalypse Child) - Winner
Mylene Dizon (Heneral Luna);
Annicka Dolonius (Apocalypse Child)
Rio Locsin (The Breakup Playlist)
Ces Quesada (Imbisibol)
Alessandra de Rossi (Kid Kulafu)
Lorna Tolentino (Crazy Beautiful You)

Best Cinematography
Ike Avellana (Apocalypse Child)
Tey Clamor (Ex With Benefits)
Odyssey Flores (Kid Kulafu)
Pong Ignacio (Heneral Luna) - Winner
Rody Lacap (Felix Manalo)
Boy Yniguez (Tragic Theater)

Best Production Design
Cristina Dy (Apocalpyse Child)
Edgar Martin Littaua (Felix Manalo)
Joey Luna (Kid Kulafu)
Ericsson Navarro (Honor Thy Father)
Benjamin Padero and Carlo Tabije (Heneral Luna) - Winner

Best Editing
Beng Bandong (The Love Affair)
Jay Halili (Honor Thy Father)
Marya Ignacio (Crazy Beautiful You)
Jerrold Tarog (Heneral Luna) - Winner
Benjamin Tolentino (Ex with Benefits)
Benjamin Tolentino (That Thing Called Tadhana)
Mark Victor (Kid Kulafu)

Best Musical Scoring
Robbie Factoran, Ricardo Jugo and Mark Villar (Kid Kulafu)
Von de Guzman (Felix Manalo)
Jesse Lucas (Crazy Beautiful You)
Erwin Romulo (Honor Thy Father)
Jerrold Tarog (Heneral Luna) - Winner
Emerzon Texon (That Thing Called Tadhana)
Emerzon Texon (Tragic Theater)

Best Sound
Aurel Claro Bilbao (The Love Affair)
Bebet Casas and Roy Santos (Para sa Hopeless Romantic)
Alberto Michael Idioma and Lamberto Casas Jr. (Felix Manalo)
Arnel Labayo (Crazy Beautiful You)
Arnel Labayo (Ex with Benefits)
Mikko Quizon (Heneral Luna) - Winner
Mikko Quizon (Kid Kulafu)
Addis Tabong (The Breakup Playlist)
Addiss Tabong (That Thing Called Tadhana)
Alex Tomboc and Alberto Michael Idioma (Tragic Theater)

Special Awards
Golden Reel Award – Vilma Santos-Recto
Fernando Poe Jr Lifetime Achievement Award – Emmanuel Borlaza
Manuel de Leon Award for Exemplary Achievements – Herminio "Butch" Bautista
Lamberto Avellana Memorial Award – Azucena "Nene" Vera Perez
Plaque of Recognition – Jaclyn Jose

You Might Also Like


Instagram Images

Stay updated on the latest happenings in Philippine Showbiz.
We'll deliver the news, chismis, updates of the hottest celebrities and stories in tinseltown... DAILY!

Follow us in Facebook and Twitter!